Nudity

I’ve read some interesting articles on nudity here and it seems to be that the general population has a really big problem with it. The spectrum of this problem however is very wide.

Some freak out and have a serious problem. To these people, I can say only this. Please talk to a professional councilor (I mean a psychologist, not a priest), they will make your life infinitely better and easier. There is nothing to be afraid of. I’m not having a religion bash here, it is just that a Priest or someone connected to the church is, to be honest, biased towards their ideology. I don’t have a problem with that, in some cases it is helpful. Here it is not. A good psychologist on the other hand wants to help you but they are NOT on your side and neither should they be. They actively listen to you, see what the problem is and give you tools in which to cope with this/these problem(s). Sounds simple, but it is in fact very courageous and requires effort on your part.

Sorry for the sidestep but I felt the need to clarify it.

Then we move through the spectrum to those who don’t want to see it but just get embarrassed when they do. I put my hand up, as a teenager on holiday, I walked in on my friends mum in her underwear and I got embarrassed. She found my embarrassment cute in away and was not offended. Now I look back on it and see her point entirely. She wasn’t embarrassed and had no need to be. There wasn’t anything remotely sexual about it. In fact she wore a bikini that was as revealing as the underwear, so where was the problem? Upon consideration, I would have to put it down to the fact that it was underwear and that we shouldn’t see it. What a load of rubbish!

Again we move through the spectrum. If I covered everyone, we would be here all day, and night! There are those who accept shower nudity but nowhere else. Ok, if you have a problem with shower nudity, then please see the second chapter because showering/bathing with clothes on is seriously weird and just plain wrong. Back on topic now. My family falls into this category. Shower nudity, steer clear, nothing to see, don’t want to be seen. No surprises that I’m comfortable with this attitude even when I no longer agree with it. I think when you are somewhere in this category, it is more a problem with being seen naked. This could range from shame to not wanting to give offense. The best thing if you fall into this category is to experience a few nude beaches or if you live in Europe, then go to the large sauna parks. Time and experience will show you that diverse body shapes are the norm and ok.

I think once you get beyond any of these and get to a point where “in house” nudity is ok then, to be honest, you have a healthy appreciation of the human body. Our household lies here. My six year old of course doesn’t see nudity and anything but not wearing clothes. She sees and feels no shame which is the way it should be. My wife and I are not constantly naked at home but when I come in from the garden dripping in sweat, I hang up my garden clothes to dry and put my undies in the wash. Then walk into the kitchen nude for a drink. I stand and drink my drink as if I would be fully clothed. My daughter acts around me the same as if I were fully clothed. In any circumstance where my wife and I are naked around the house, we act no differently to when we are clothed and this I feel is a very good way to be. There is nothing remotely sexual about this. Why should there be?

I believe that we are providing our daughter with some very important lessons. I want that she grows up with a feeling of understanding that the human body comes in all shapes and sizes. That Hollywood does not set the standard that we should all aim to. I want that she has a feeling of self worth. I feel that this is easier when we are more accepting of our naked body. There is nothing to be afraid of.

Leave a Reply

